Sunday, July 19, 2009

Explore Macedonia - short info (part 1)

The Republic of Macedonia has some 748 km of boundaries, shared with Serbia (62 km) to the North, Kosovo (159 km) to the northwest, Bulgaria (148 km) to the east, Greece (228 km) to the south, and Albania (151 km) to the west. The country represents a major transportation corridor from Western and Central Europe to Aegean Sea and Southern Europe to Western Europe.

The country is part of the wider region of Macedonia, from which carries its own name. It is a landlocked country, but has three natural lakes: Ohrid Lake, Prespa Lake and Dojran Lake.  The land area is 25 713 km2.

The country is situated on a mountainous territory covered with deep basins and valleys; three large lakes, each divided by a frontier line. The Republic of Macedonia is bisected by the Vardar River.

The Republic's terrain is mostly rugged, located between the Šar Mountains and Osogovo, which frame the valley of the Vardar river. Three large lakes — Lake Ohrid, Lake Prespa and Dojran Lake — lie on the southern borders of the Republic, bisected by the frontiers with Albania and Greece. 

Ohrid is considered to be one of the oldest lakes and biotopes in the world. The region is seismically active and has been the site of destructive earthquakes in the past, most recently in 1963 when Skopje was heavily damaged by a major earthquake, killing over 1,000.

Macedonia has three national parks and a few national nature reserves.

* National parks:
 - Pelister National Park
 - Galičica
 - Mavrovo

* Special nature reservations:
- Ezerani

- Jasen

No comments:

Post a Comment