Thursday, July 16, 2009

Macedonia gets visa liberalization!

Macedonia finally gets a visa liberalization! Macedonians can travel without visas in the EU countries and the countries of the Schengen Agreement, after 1st of January 2010.

Twenty-nine countries, including 25 European Union states and non-EU members Iceland, Norway, Lichtenstein and Switzerland are bound to the full set of rules in the Schengen Agreement. "The Commission's proposal needs to be approved by the [European] Council after having consulted the European Parliament," the statement added.

Macedonia has met all necessary conditions for visa liberalization, but for Serbia and Montenegro, the entry into force of the visa waiver will depend on fulfillment of all remaining open benchmarks of their respective roadmaps by the date of adoption of this proposal by the Council, the statement said.

This proposal for granting visas was made for Serbia and Montenegro, as well.

No comments:

Post a Comment